Tent Time!!

Tent Time!!

Okay so as of right now I’m in the midst of decision making on tents. I have purchased a tent at Target back in May because I had star visions of camping all summer on the weekends. These were dashed of course by the fact that there are no good campgrounds around my home within biking distance for one night. I was finally able to de-flower my tent on her virgin voyage into camphood. Kerry and I went camping at Wildwood State Park the second weekend in September. We drove up to the park, pitched our tent in the dark, in the wind and proceeded to have a grand old time! And then we went to bed. How shall I put this? ….It was cold as fuck. I realized by morning, when I found myself trying to cuddle up to Kerry’s feet, that my tent was not too windproof. The window of the tent were only mesh, where some tents (I thought it was most tents but I was wrong) didn’t have a zip-over to close the windows, so to speak. I decided then and there that I would have to buy a new tent that was weather proof because I’ll be damned if I’m cold on this trip. =) So right now the tent I’m looking at is called the Koppen Lokal. It’s for one person and advertises that it is a 3 season tent, however all the reviews rave about how wonderful of a tent it is even in snow. I’m thinking that along with my tarp under it, this will be perfect for all adventures. It’s supposed to be cozy in the cold and the windows open for air BUT (here’s the best part) the mesh of the windows is small enough to prevent no see-ums, which was a real concern for me. One review even said it kept out tiny ants. I went over to Dicks to have a look see and it couldnt’ be more perfect. The price is great ($90.00) and it’s just enough room for me and my bags. It only weights 2 pounds and folds up into a small little bag which is, again, perfect.

Leave a Reply

