Upon further research…

Well friends, it seems my carefully plotted out plans have been dramatically altered. As I talked about in my last post, I have spent the entire evening looking at every single line of the Amtrak and figuring out which trains DO allow carry on bikes and which lines require the bikes to be boxed up and checked. The results are not comforting.

Apparently the only line out of NYC that allows carry on bikes go up to Maine or down to North Carolina. So the decision has been made that I will be taking the train to Charlotte, NC and have to bike from there. I already know it’s going to be a real bitch trying to cross the Smoky Mountains in Jan/Feb but it’s the fastest way I can get out of the winter weather.

Luckily for me, living in New York I’ll have plenty of snow to practice biking in up until I leave. I already know I’m going to be using http://www.warmshowers.com to the EXTREME whilst there and I’m going to have to have at least 2 or 3 sleeping bag flannel liners. I refuse to be cold and the only way that’s going to happen is staying with people and being prepared to layer my little tent-home. =)

This is only a small set-back. Now that I know it’s happening I can plan accordingly! Better to have discovered this now than in January!

Leave a Reply

