Meet Me

Hi. I’m Maria. Do I look like someone who bikes everywhere? I guess I probably don’t haha. BUT I DO! Which is where my little story is going to start. About 2 years ago I started working a job where I was forced to bike an hour to get to work. I had no alternative way of traveling anywhere for the summer so I started exploring Long Island (where I live). By the end of the summer I had discovered that I love to bike ride! When my Grandmother died in October I stopped biking suddenly and didn’t start back up again until this past May when I decided to buy myself a little Roadmaster that was on sale at Wal-Mart. I told myself it was a great idea because I mean, come on, it’s not like I’m going anywhere outside of a few hours ride, right?

False. …I’ll get back to that in a minute.

In June 2013 I spent time at my friend Kerry’s house, as she was my safe haven when the house was crazy. While laying on her bed staring at the ceiling wondering how things had gotten so out of control so quickly I said ”I wish I could just take my bike and travel the country.”

Joking of course.

Kerry sat up, grabbed her laptop and said “Well…I mean…you kind of could if you really wanted to.” …and started Googling bike traveling and camping. We read a few articles about how it could actually be done, but in the end decided it wasn’t too safe and that was the end of it.

….Except that it wasn’t. From that moment, the idea was in my head to embark on a grand trip of freedom. All summer it was just a wish in my head that would never really happen. I was forced into taking an unpaid one month vacation so my employers could ”save money” (go to St. Martin for a month) and while I was home I realized that I really REALLY wanted to do this trip.

Society, ”They”, People, Parents, Peers, Family. These are all the ones that dictate our lives. We ”have” to go to school to be deemed ”mature, responsible adults” and after college we get a ”real” job. (NOT bagging in the grocery store, like that isn’t a real job. *insert me rolling my eyeballs*) Then we spend the rest of our lives working. Literally. Unless we manage to strike it rich and not have any worries but let’s face it, most of us don’t have that happen to them. We are ruled by the almighty dollar. It tells us if we are happy, it tells us if we are ”popular”, what we can wear, what we eat, IF we eat. We have been fooled into believing that money is 100% necessary to live a happy, ”successful” life.

I have made the decision that I do not want to live my life like that. I want to be happy in my life, doing things that I love, not being ruled by things that have no real rule of who I am and what I do and what I need to be free! When my Grandmother died she told me to have a happy life and do what made me happy and I have decided to take that to heart. So I am choosing to leave my job in January, take my bike, tent and supplies (after selling or donating my other belongings) on the Amtrak to Albuquerque and bike touring the entire country.

What do you think of that?

Leave a Reply

