Whew! Let’s Catch Up!!

Good Lord!  I’ve been MIA!  I have a lot to tell you and my updates.  I don’t even know where to start…

…Okay, I guess I’ll start with my bike.  I got my new bike!  Finally paid it all off!!  Wanna hear all about it?   Of course you do.  😉

Image

 

This is my new bike!  It’s a Diamondback Vital 2 or as I call her, Evelyn.  She’s a hybrid bike so she’s built for comfort AND the road but her tires are treaded and wide enough to also function well if I choose to go off path for awhile (duh).  

Along with buying Evelyn, I replaced the pedals with Shimano PD-M424 SPD Pedals.  For those of you who were like me a month ago:  They’re pedals that on one side are like a regular pedal and on the other side have clips for your clipless shoes.  (Confused yet?)  Okay so, clipless shoes are biking shoes with a little cleat the bottom that looks like this:

Image

(Thanks drivemybike.wordpress.com for the pic!) 

The way that they work is that little cleat in the bottom of the shoe clips to the cleat on your pedal!  (So why is it called clipless?) To get clipped IN you have to push down and your shoes snap to your pedal (meaning that you can’t just lift your foot off your pedal, you are stuck to your pedal) and to release you have to push down and then twist your foot out and you pop your shoe out. ) You don’t HAVE to use them with your shoes obviously BUT it makes biking a lot easier.  This of course is all hearsay as I haven’t seen the proof yet.  The bottom of MY shoes look like the center shoe.  

I was told I was going to fall a few times before I mastered using the clipless pedals and boy did I ever.  So imagine that you’re on your bike and your feet are like GLUED to your pedals.  What happens if you start to tip in a certain direction?  Yes, you are correct, you fall hard because there is LITERALLY nothing you can do to save yourself.  So this girl leaning up against the garage door managed to have one shoe unclipped and fall in the direction of the shoe that WAS clipped in.  Straight to the ground.  Hello scraped knee and elbow.  I’m just glad I didn’t bonk my head.  I had a concert to go to that night so I decided to not break a bone or two beforehand.  

Moving on… I am starting to face the horrible idea that I may have to push back my start date.  I was originally wanting to leave in January but I’m thinking that it’s not going to happen that early financially.  I’d rather work at my horrible job longer and have a little more food money saved up than starve sooner… sort of.  Some of the fears that I’ve managed to nail down so far go as follows:

  • Camping on public property and having to wonder who might approach my tent.  I know that this is going to just have to be something I get used to but I know that it’s a logical fear.  According to all the biker tour-ists I’ve spoken to this is a fear that gets pumped up a lot but in reality isn’t much of an issue.  I know how to prepare for it I just need to be ready.
  • Not having enough food and having to resort to eating meat.  This is a personal issue as a vegetarian that scares the daylight out of me.  I know that in terms of survival this is something I’m going to have to just be open to if it like literally comes down to me either dying or not but …still….

In the meantime of me worrying which isn’t going to help anything as much as preparation will, tomorrow is a day off (I refuse to say I’m celebrating Columbus Day which is utter bullshit)  and I’m determined to master these damn biking shoes so I can go on a nice long bike ride.  Until next time!  (Next time we’ll talk about bike saddles, helmets and lights)

 

Leave a Reply

