BRRR!! Here Goes Nothing!

OK! I’m preparing for my first serious run. Like…all alone, starting a campfire, camping on public land not someone’s backyard dry run. ….I am terrified.

First things first: ma tente (I don’t speak French, do you?).  I returned my tent from Dick’s last week and purchased the Camp Dome 2.  I set it up for the first time this morning since my sleeping bag had also arrived.  IT’S BIGGER THAN MY BED!! Along with size it’s so easy to set up that I felt like a pro (or maybe third times a charm?).  I kind of want to just let it stay popped up on my bed and sleep in at night (can you imagine what my employers would think? …Oh yeah, Maria’s in her room camping…) Annnyyyways, okay so next up is my sleeping bag, or as I have been referring to it ”my SLEEPING BAG WHICH IS SO FREAKING COMFY OMG I CAN’T STAND IT!”  I’m not even kidding.  As soon as I start trying to seriously talk about it the memory of it’s coziness overpowers all my sense of composure.  The same way I squeal excitedly singing Fleetwood Mac at the top of my lungs ruining the song whilst imaging that I am a young Latina Stevie Nicks but that is an entirely different subject.  My sleeping bag is AWWWEEEsome!  It’s really really warm, comfortable and JUST the right length for me to be cozy and cuddly.  Add to that my amazing sleeping pad and I’m so snuggly I kind of want to sleep outside like right now (even thought it’s like 30 degrees out if not colder).  

Image

Tent + Sleeping Bag = Home!

Image

EEEheeeheehee

Moving right along.  I ambushed REI this week with a mile long list of items that I knew I would need for this weekend of camping.  Cooking supplies, fire started, matches, bunjee cords (more), compass, a whole long list of things.  I packed up my bike yesterday and all that’s left is food for cooking and pajamas.  I hope.    

Now let me actually TELL you about what I’m up to this weekend.  I am going to be going up NY Bike Route 9 to Bear Mountain.

Image

Red line is my route! Let’s all oooh and aaaah together. That’s a long ass bike route.

Bike Route 9 starts at the George Washington Bridge in the Bronx and goes just shy of the Canada border!  Obviously, since this is just a weekend run I’ll only be going about 40 miles up the route.  For me though this is going to be quite a distance since I know the terrain will be very different from my nice, flat little Long Island biking!  

In terms of the camping part, I will be camping somewhere inside Bear Mountain State Park.  I’m a little worried because try as I might I cannot find in writing a definite explanation of the camping policy for this.  I have to be certain distance from the road, not visible, take back with me what I bring (duh) no fires?  I can’t find it anywhere and as Saturday morning approaches I am getting more and more concerned.   Advice?  Information?  Links?  Really…anything would be great!  Anyhoo, I’ll be making dinner and starting a little fire (rule allowing) and it’s going to be soooo cold and guess what? ….I CAN’T WAIT!  

What are YOU doing this weekend?  

Leave a Reply

