Hello Austin!

HI!!! I made it to Austin alive!! (I don’t know why I wouldn’t?) Allow me to tell you about my day!
I started my day off with Kerry dropping me off at the LaGuardia Airport for my flight. We had our horribly heartbreaking goodbye and I was off. There was literally no line for the security, which I was worried about because I was actually supposed to fly yesterday and my flight was cancelled for today because of the weather we’re having. But so yes there was no line and I was two hours early and settled in for the wait. The first flight was a few minutes behind and I made it to my second flight just in time to board. It was a snowy snowy flight down from Chicago to Austin. see look:

image

Snowy plains!!

Upon arriving at the airport I went down to the baggage area to collect my suitcases. You remember…the one large one that rolls, the one large one that is enormous and doesn’t roll and the carry-on that I ended up checking because the plane was full. As the carry-on rolling suitcase comes around the bend I’m staring at it strangely because the handles look like they’ve come off. No wait… that’s not even the top…that’s the BOTTOM. THREE of the four wheels have snapped off the bottom of the suitcase and are long gone. LOOOONG gone. So as I’m stunned and pondering just how the fuck I’m going to be able to roll this suitcase plus the other two down the streets of Austin, TX the large rolling bag comes around. IT ALSO IS MISSING IT’S WHEELS. ALL it’s wheels. ALL IT’S WHEELS! Can I scream that loud enough? Yeah, no I can’t. So my setup was this and I wish I’d had the presence of mind to take a photo but I was too busy wondering what to do. Picture a regular sized carry on rolling suitcase. On top of that picture a large rectangular old fashioned suitcase the kind that doesn’t roll that you have to carry yourself. That was the only way I could fathom traveling carrying all the bags. I thought you myself, I’ll just drag these bags, sure why not? …I made it as far as the seats that people sit on who are waiting for their loved ones to arrive on planes. Not only was I dying for air, in pain from gripping my heavy bags but I am dragging dead weight and screeching with every step I take. OBviously the bus idea is not going to work out. I decide to take a cab, all I have to do now is get myself out to where cabs are picking people up. Off I go with all my suitcases dragging and screeching and people watching me. The first street to cross wasn’t SO bad (and by that I mean I didn’t drop anything). The second street I cross to where all the cabs with lights were parked only to be told they can’t pick me up there I have to cross back over and walk to the official ”taxi pick -up” sign. So I turn around and begin crossing again and I could FEEL the bags slipping and the next thing I know the large suitcase has fallen off the carry one and the large rolling one has just fallen and can’t get up. Finally a cabbie gets out to help me out and thank crap for that because I was dying already, can you imagine me trying to bus it and then hoof to Courtney’s house? I cannot. Into the cab I go and then I’m at the hosts house! On my way there I saw CACTUS AFTER CACTUS! It was very cool to see all these things that I know are there but I’ve never actually seen. For example in the airport there was a ton of music stages and giant guitars etc… anyways…
She wasn’t home, which I was prepared for but I knew her roommates were although I wasn’t exactly sure of the layout of her home. I had to walk around the side of the house (several trips as I progressed with my suitcases) . Courtney told me that she had two dogs and that they were friendly but would probably bark a little at me and she was right. They were snarling through the door. I walked in the side door to her bedroom and they were beyond another door which I believed was the living room where she’d said to make myself at home. I cracked the door open and they went crazy soooo I shut it again. I wasn’t about to test the friendliness of these puppies who clearly thought I was an intruder. Her roommates eventually came out and opened the door and introduced me to the dogs who after seeing I was not a threat were very friendly.
Next I unpacked the Suitcases From Hell, organized my bags and shit and plugged in the things that need to charge. I am now currently sitting on her couch typing this out to you guys here. All in all I am very lucky that I was financially ABLE to take a cab so I cannot even complain one bit. Plus I kind of am glad it took 15 minutes to get here and 45 by bus. I’m pretty tired and have a big day ahead of me so wish me luck on picking up my bike tomorrow!! ❤ ❤
Item to buy: hand lotion. I've totally forgotten that and my hands are super chapped. And Advil Migraine. And peanut butter and bread. =)
Remind me if I forget. I'm just waiting for Courtney to get home from work and we can chat! I can't wait to learn all about her stories of bike touring on HER own!

3 Comments

  1. Maria,
    I am happy to see that you are traveling and that you are documenting your adventures. My daughter and I will be keeping up with your blog and hope that you have safe travels!
    Hope you didn’t forget to get your peanut butter!
    -Edgar the macaron maker from Round Rock

Leave a Reply

